

The Corporation of the Township of King Notice of Motion

Date of Meeting: Monday, September 9, 2024

Moved by: Mayor Pellegrini

Seconded by: Councillor Boyd

Subject: Home Heating Sustainability

Whereas home heating energy costs is a major and onerous burden for seniors and those with limited or fixed incomes; and

Whereas the cost of natural gas to heat homes continues to climb due to many factors such as inflation, delivery and customer charges, carbon tax, among others, causing financial strain for many citizens; and

Whereas Canadians have no choice but to heat their homes throughout the winter; and

Whereas no citizen should have to choose between putting food on the table or heating their homes; and

Whereas the carbon tax increased as of April 1, 2024 to \$0.15 per cubic metre for natural gas, and the carbon tax rebate for homeowners is also increasing; and

Whereas Ontario homeowners can now expect to receive \$1,120 annually for the rebate on average and the rebate will be renamed to the Canada Carbon Rebate; and

Whereas starting on January 1, 2024, both SaskEnergy and SaskPower removed the federal carbon tax from home heating; and

Whereas the Canadian and Ontario governments have discontinued grant and rebate programs for Ontarians to retrofit their homes to be energy efficient such as the Canada Greener Homes Grant, making it difficult for homeowners to reduce their reliance on natural gas.

Now therefore be it resolved that:

- 1. The Federal Government exclude home heating from the federal carbon tax to reduce the burden on citizens, as has been done in Saskatchewan; and
- 2. The Federal and Provincial Governments reinstate home energy retrofit rebate and grant programs to help King residents retrofit their homes to be more energy-efficient

Home Heating Sustainability Error! Reference source not found.

- and provide barrier-free options for switching to less carbon-intensive fuel sources to lower their utility bills and avoid the carbon tax; and
- 3. That the Clerk be directed to forward a copy of this resolution to: Hon. Steven Guilbeault, MP, Minister of the Environment and Climate Change; Hon. Andrea Khanjin, MPP, Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks; Scot Davidson, MP, York-Simcoe; Hon. Caroline Mulroney, MPP, York-Simcoe; Hon. Stephen Lecce, MPP, King-Vaughan and Minister of Energy and Electrification; Anna Roberts, MP, King-Vaughan; the Regional Municipality of York, and all York Region local municipalities.